KMI School 2019
International Symposium

The 2nd KMI school  (KMI school 2019)

Particle-Antiparticle Asymmetry in the Universe
Nagoya University, ES635
February 21-23, 2019



The Kobayashi-Maskawa Institute for the Origin of Particles and the Universe (KMI) was established on 2010 at Nagoya University in order to explore new frontiers of modern physics beyond the Standard Model. KMI decided to launch the KMI school in 2018, to which we invite distinguished researchers to KMI to have them give their lectures on specific topics every year. The KMI school is intended for graduate school students and young post-docs. We would like you to encourage young members in your groups to join in the KMI school.


The 2nd KMI school will be held with a topic “Particle-Antiparticle Asymmetry in the Universe”, which is one of the biggest mysteries in physics. While CP violation in the quark sector has been established
and interpreted with the theory proposed by Kobayashi-Maskawa in 1973, it is yet unknown how we can reproduce the Universe dominated by matter. New Physics beyond the Standard Model would be necessary for solving the issue. Many researchers, including our members in KMI, are working intensively on the subject from viewpoints of elementary particle physics and astrophysics.

Note that there will be The 4th KMI Internaitonal Symposium early in the same week (Feb. 18-20), and KMI2019 will have a topical session focusing on mysteries of the matter-antimatter asymmetry in the
Universe. Students and young researchers are encouraged to attend also the KMI2019 symposium.



Lecture: CP Violation in the Standard Model
Prof. Yosef Nir (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Yossi Nir's Group
Lecture: Baryogenesis
Prof. Wilfried Buchmüller (DESY)
Tutorial: Global Fit (CKMFitter)
Prof.Sébastien Descotes-Genon (CNRS & Paris-Sud University)
Organizing Committee
M. Kobayashi (Chair),
J. Hisano (Co-Chair), T. Iijima (Co-Chair), Y. Itow (Co-Chair), S. Nojiri (Co-Chair),
T. Abe, A. Gaz, M. Harada, K. Ichiki, K. Izumi, H. Kanno, Y. Kato, S. Kawamura, S. Kazama, M. Kitaguchi, T. Kitahara, P. Krizan, Y. Maeda, N. Maekawa, K. Matsuoka, T. Naka, Y. Nakahama,
M. Nakamura, T. Nakano, K. Nakazawa, A. Nishizawa, C. Nonaka, Y. Omura, T. Sakai, H. Shimizu,
T. Shiromizu, Y. Shoji, N. Sugiyama, H. Tajima, M. Tanabashi, K. Tobe, M. Tomoto